Cycle A-way

Cycle A-way - CTC unique guide to published cycle routes
CTC’s unique guide to all the published cycle routes in the British Isles, whether on or off-road. Find places to ride and information about them everywhere in the country whether you are looking for easy cycling routes on the Isle of Wight or challenging mountain bike trails in the North Pennines.


Cycle A-way was published in 1992, then again in 1996. Since then information has continued to be collated, but not widely published as the information was continually changing. However, the opportunity to include Cycle A-way on the CTC website now means that information can be kept more up to date, and therefore be a more valuable resource.

Designated cycle routes means those routes established by local authorities and others over the years in contrast to the CTC's library of CTC's Information & Touring sheets provided mainly by members for the exclusive use of members.Information is listed under :

  • Countrywide - publications covering more than one country. 
  • England, Wales and Scotland - publications covering more than one county.
  • By county - Information is listed under the county in which the majority of the route occurs, with cross-referencing to other counties where appropriate.

The table below lists the areas and counties, when the last update occurred.If you know of any information that is incorrect, or of any leaflets not included, please do let me know.

Heather Evans
Cycle A-way Co-ordinator

Using the guide

Information listed includes :

  • the title of the leaflet or book
  • its cost
  • details of how to obtain and/or download it
  • the publication date if known

For off-road routes  :

  • OS 1:50 000 sheet number
  • 4 or 6 figure grid reference for the start and finish
  • route mileage

Sustrans National Cycle Network (NCN) and their Regional Route (RR) numbers are often included.

Where publications are obtainable from one source these are grouped together. Most are also available from other sources.

Country Wide

Countrywide Updated 29th June 2014


EnglandUpdated 29th June 2014
BedfordshireUpdated 9th September 2014
BerkshireUpdated 9th September 2014
BuckinghamshireUpdated 9th September 2014
CambridgeshireUpdated 29th June 2014
CheshireUpdated 18th July 2014
CornwallUpdated 18th July 2014
CumbriaUpdated 18th July 2014
DerbyshireUpdated 29th June 2014
DevonUpdated 18th July 2014
DorsetUpdated 29th June 2014
Durham and Tees ValleyUpdated 18th July 2014
EssexUpdated 18th July 2014
GloucestershireUpdated 18th July 2014
HampshireUpdated 18th July 2014
Hereford and WorcesterUpdated 6th May 2014
HertfordshireUpdated 10th Feb 2014
Isle of ManUpdated 10th Feb 2014
Isle of WightUpdated 6th May 2014
KentUpdated 18th July 2014
LancashireUpdated 10th Feb 2014
LeicestershireUpdated 29th June 2014
LincolnshireUpdated 18th July 2014
LondonUpdated 18th July 2014
ManchesterUpdated 18th July 2014
MerseysideUpdated 10th Feb 2014
NorfolkUpdated 18th July 2014
NorthamptonshireUpdated 10th Feb 2014
NorthumberlandUpdated 9th September 2014
NottinghamshireUpdated 9th September 2014
OxfordshireUpdated 9th September 2014
ShropshireUpdated 9th September 2014
SomersetUpdated 9th September 2014
StaffordshireUpdated 9th September 2014
SuffolkUpdated 9th September 2014
SurreyUpdated 9th September 2014
Sussex, EastUpdated 9th September 2014
Sussex, WestUpdated 9th September 2014
Tyne and WearUpdated 9th September 2014
WarwickshireUpdated 9th September 2014
West MidlandsUpdated 18th July 2014
WiltshireUpdated 29th June 2014
Yorkshire, EastUpdated 9th September 2014
Yorkshire, NorthUpdated 9th September 2014
Yorkshire, SouthUpdated 6th May 2014
Yorkshire, WestUpdated 9th September 2014


WalesUpdated 9th September 2014
Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and PembrokeUpdated 29th June 2014
Conwy and North East WalesUpdated 29th June 2014
Gwynedd and AngleseyUpdated 29th June 2014
MonmouthUpdated 4th Apr 2014
PowysUpdated 29th June 2014
South WalesUpdated 29th June 2014


ScotlandUpdated 29th June 2014
BordersUpdated 29th June 2014
Dumfries and GallowayUpdated 29th June 2014
EdinburghUpdated 29th June 2014
FifeUpdated 4th Apr 2014
Glasgow, Falkirk, Argyll and AyrshireUpdated 29th June 2014
HighlandUpdated 29th June 2014
North East ScotlandUpdated 29th June 2014
Perth and KinrossUpdated 9th September 2014
Scottish IslandsUpdated 9th September 2014
StirlingUpdated 29th June 2014


IrelandUpdated 9th September 2014

Channel Islands

Channel IslandsUpdated 9th September 2014

Share This Page


  • Patron: Her Majesty The Queen
  • President: Jon Snow
  • Chief Executive: Paul Tuohy
  • Cyclists' Touring Club (CTC): A company limited by guarantee, registered in England no.25185. Registered as a charity in England and Wales No 1147607 and in Scotland No SC042541


Terms and Conditions